Home
Sponsored By:   PRAEVENI
/Registration/FamilyAccounts.asp?org=EPBBA.ORG
 
 
My my My my
 
 
 
 
 
 

Head Coach - PLEASE complete the 4 steps below by November 1, 2018 (start of the season).  EPBBA is required by Minnesota State Law to have all coaches in grades K-12 the certification for concussions.  The passed certification is good for 3 years.  If you last completed the certification in 2014, then you will need to complete the certification again.

 

  1. If you have already completed the concussion certification for another sport, then go directly to step 3 & 4 below.
    1. View the On-line Video https://nfhslearn.com/courses/61129/concussion-in-sports
      1. ​Select MN for state & Click Order the Course  (there is a $0 cost for taking the course)
      2. enter your email and password if you have taken the course in the past.  If this is your first time, you will need to setup an account.
    2. 20 minutes - Total time to take the 11 question pre-test, watch the video, and 11 question test
    3. This is a FREE video course that you will order on the web site
    4. You will need to create an account with NFHS with your email and password (this web site is an independent company not affiliated with EPBBA)
    5. This site is not linked to your EPBBA account in any way and PLEASE DO NOT create another account on the EPBBA web site.  All of your info is tied to your existing email and password.
       
  2. Pass the certification test and save a copy of the certificate to your computer (print to a pdf file).
  3. Email the completed certificate to
    1. with a subject of your: last name, first name ;i.e if your name is Andrew Wiggins, the subject would be: Wiggins, Andrew (EPBBA is required by law to be the administrator of the completed certification for all coaches).  DO NOT reply to this email OR email your GRADE COMMISSIONER, PLEASE
  4. Go to www.epbba.org and have ONLY the head coach register for the 2018 Coaches Certification to enter the completion date.  Click Register On Line on the left hand menu.  This is what tells EPBBA that you have completed the course.  (the certificate is valid for 3 years and this will enable EPBBA to monitor and send email reminders when the certification has expired 3 years from now for current year's coaches only).  (see the details below.  DO NOT create a new username and password on the EPBBA Site.  If you received this email, you already have an account setup)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Here are the instructions to register your completion date on the EPBBA Web Site.

 

PLEASE – do not set up a new data base record on the EPBBA website for yourself.  You are already in the system, which is where we tell your data base record that you are a Coach.

·         go to www.epbba.org

·         click on "Register Online" (left hand side)

·         click on "Register" (under Coaches Concussion Law Certification)

·         click continue when the message that you must be over the age of 18 appears

·         enter your email and password (the one used for registration)

·         your personal info will display, click register on the bottom

·         enter in the year, month, and day that you completed your certification

·         click "submit information"

 

 

Below are the details of Minnesota's Concussion Law:

Minnesota's New "Concussion Law"

  • The Minnesota Legislature's "Concussion Law" requires online training for all coaches and officials and concussion education for all parents and athletes.

    The Minnesota Legislature recently passed a "Concussion Law" which requires any municipality, business, school district or nonprofit organization that organizes a youth athletic activity and charges a fee to follow the statute's requirements, including implementing concussion training and education to improve player safety and establish safe return-to-play policies for athletes who sustain a concussion.

    The law mandates that all coaches and officials receive concussion training and education by September 1, 2011, and then at three-year intervals thereafter. Coaches must remove an athlete from activity if they exhibit signs, symptoms or behaviors consistent with a concussion and/or are suspected of sustaining a concussion. The law also requires a doctor's signature to return to play if an athlete is removed due to a concussion or is showing signs or symptoms of a concussion.

    The concussion education we recommend for coaches and officials is the online video training session developed by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the National Federation of State High Schools (http://nfhslearn.com/courses/38000). This course requires registration, but it is free. Over 200,000 coaches and officials have already successfully completed this course.

    The training process involves watching a video and then successfully completing a quiz. The entire training module can be completed in a little over a half an hour and then participants can print out a Certificate of Completion. Users should use a screen capture to save the certificate on their desktop, or print and scan the certificate to create a digital file.

     
  • All of our EPBBA Basketball coaches must e-mail their Certificate of Completion to: 2018EPBBAConcussionLaw@gmail.com.  If you completed this training as a coach for football or other youth athletic activity this fall, your requirement has been met; however we still need to receive a copy of your certificate. 
    Parents and athletes do not have to complete the training but should access and review the concussion awareness and education information available on the CDC's website (see #1a above).